Five councillors in Southampton will not be seeking re-election next month.

One-third of the seats on the city council are up for grabs when residents go to the polls.

There is set to be a contest in each of the 17 wards on the city council 12 months on from the all-out election.

Leader of the Conservative group Cllr Daniel Fitzhenry, who has represented the Harefield ward since 2008, previously announced he would not be standing.

Redbridge Labour councillor Catherine McEwing is calling time on being an elected representative for more than 20 years in office across two spells dating back to 1995.

Cllr Darren Paffey, who was first elected in 2011, is not bidding for re-election in the Bargate ward. He will be standing as the Labour candidate for the Southampton Itchen constituency in the next general election.

Cllr Tony Bunday, who was elected as a Labour candidate for Bitterne Park in 2022 and now sits as an independent, is not standing in the polls on May 2.

Cllr Razwana Quadir, who helped Labour complete a Shirley ward clean sweep in last year’s election, is also not seeking re-election after a year in office.

Councillors across the chamber paid tribute and highlighted the achievements of those leaving elected office during the final full council meeting of the municipal year.

Lord Mayor Valerie Laurent said: “We thank them for their service for their communities and wish them well.”

Across the other 12 seats, the incumbent members seeking re-election on May 2 are 10 from Labour, one Liberal Democrat and one Conservative.

The Labour group currently holds a large majority, with 37 of the 51 seats.