Paultons CC won the Southern Premier League’s T20 Plate after a thrilling final at the Ageas Bowl.

Despite being restricted to 116-8 by Sparsholt, Paultons won by five runs thanks to an outstanding performance from veteran Tony Richman, who finished with the remarkable figures of 4-1-4-1.

An opening partnership of 63 between Cameron Grierson (47) and Nathan Feltham (28), had put Paultons on course for a decent total.

Sparholt's attack - David Banks (4-0-17-2), Nicholas Doubell (4-0-16-1), Liam Doran (4-0-30-1) and Jeremy Frith (4-0-21-3) - ensured Paultons faltered.

Then Richman took the early wicket of Michael Haworth at the beginning of his incredible spell.

Sparsholt’s Stuart Taylor hit a 29-ball 40 (three fours, one six) but his side finished just short on 111-5, with Robert Pike (4-0-20-2) also excelling with the ball for Paultons.